On the afternoon of March 27, the first videoconference of the Technical Commission on Good Governance Practices (CTPBG) was held in order to choose the Supreme Audit Institution to hold the presidency for the period 2017-2020.

The General Audit Office of Argentina was reelected and will continue to preside over the CTPBG until 2020.

Auditor General Jesus Rodriguez, who had acted as president in representation of the AGN, received broad support from CTPBG member Supreme Audit Institutions.

The candidates for the presidency were the General Audit Office (AGN) and the Office of the Comptroller General of the Republic of Ecuador.

Members expressed their support for Argentina to continue with its work, taking advantage of experience already gained to enhance the proposals developed by the CTPBG. SAIs who voted in favor of Argentina’s submission were Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Peru, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Bolivia and Mexico, with Ecuador, Nicaragua and Venezuela voting for the Ecuadorian entity.

After his reelection Rodríguez expressed his gratitude, saying that the charge represented a responsibility to work, improve and strive to provide better conditions for good governance practices. He would, he said, improve the presented proposal to include the participation and opinions of all, acting in an open, participatory spirit of collective responsibility.

In his capacity as president of the CTPBG and Auditor General of the Nation of Argentina, Jesús Rodríguez presided over the videoconference together with the Secretary of the Commission, Miriam Insausti and Viviana Leyden. The Supreme Audit Institutions (SAIs) of Cuba, Nicaragua, Chile, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Argentina, Guatemala, Peru, Venezuela, Bolivia and Mexico participated, as well as adherent members from the Court of Accounts of the Province of Buenos Aires and the Office of the Comptroller of Bogotá (Colombia).

Download the CTPG’s Working Plan here:

Proposal of SAI of Argentina